Picture of William McMahon
Choose another PM


William McMahon

William McMahon was Prime Minister from 1971 to 1972. He was first elected to parliament in 1949, and held the seat of Lowe, in Sydney, for 33 years until his retirement in 1982.

William McMahon faces the voters at Box Hill, 1972

In his only election as Prime Minister, William McMahon faces the voters at Box Hill, Victoria in November 1972.

NAA: A6180, 5/12/72/10

McMahon served as Minister for Primary Industry (1956–58) and Minister for Labour and National Service (1958–66) in the government of Robert Menzies, as Treasurer (1966–69) in the governments of Harold Holt, John McEwen and John Gorton, and as Minister for External Affairs (1969–71) in the Gorton government.

Find records

The researcher's portal to records on Australia's prime ministers

Find records

Search for institutions with records on William McMahon